Privacy Policy   |   Print Page   |   Sign In
Student Scholarships
Share |

Minnesota PRSA sponsors an annual scholarship 

program named after the late Dr. Willard Thompson of

Click Here to download the Application.
Applications are due November 2, 2018 at 11 PM CT

the University of Minnesota School of Journalism. 


The scholarship recognizes students who excel in the

study of public relations and communications. Awards

are given at the PRSA Classics Award Ceremony.


It’s a great opportunity for PRSSA members to use their

skills and gain exposure to professionals.


A panel of Accredited Public Relations (APR) professionals will judge the student entries and the award recipients will be announced at the Minnesota PRSA Classics Award Ceremony.


The top scoring applicants (scoring a minimum of 70 out of 100 points) from 10 affiliated PRSSA chapters of Minnesota PRSA will receive Dr. Willard Thompson a scholarship. The first place prize is $2,000 and the second place prize is $1,000. In addition, the top-scoring applicant will be named “Best of PRSSA.” All award winners will receive a free PRSA associate membership.


One finalist from each chapter that applies for the scholarship will be selected for the President’s Award and will receive an honorary certificate. 





These finalists will have the top-scoring applications within the essay (Section C) of the scholarship entry. The Dr. Willard Thompson Scholarship and President’s Award recipients will be invited to a special lunch with the president of Minnesota PRSA.


To qualify for the Dr. Willard Thompson Scholarship and President’s Award, applicants must:

  • Be in good standing with their PRSSA chapter
  • Have attained a junior or senior level standing
  • Use any scholarship funds for educational expenses

The following point breakdown is considered when scoring the applicants. 
  • 10 pts Resume
  • 10 pts Professional Recommendation
  • 40 pts Essay
  • 40 pts Examples of Work


Applications are due by Friday, November 2 at 11:00 PM CT.

The application can be downloaded in the upper right corner of the page.


Past Winners


  • Jack Nachtigal- University of Minnesota
  • Rachel Oehlke- University of Minnesota (Runner-up)


  • Zach Spanton, Winona State University
  • Brooke Wente, University of Minnesota
  • Brooke Eshleman, University of Minnesota (Runner-up)
  • Jessica Sauve, Minnesota State University Mankato (Runner-up)
  • Grace Fjellanger, Augustana University (Runner-up)



  • Sara Erickson, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities


  • Stephanie Mann, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities


  • Laura Jollie, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
  • Taryn Bitterly, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
  • Anna Moegenburg, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire



  • Laura Jollie, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
  • Lindsey Rogers, St. Cloud State University
  • Olivia Jeske, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire


Minnesota PRSA 1660 Highway 100 South, Suite 500-309 Minneapolis MN 55416 Phone: 952-237-9258 Email:

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal